Life Of A Bookseller……

Hi Now

So I have been working in my new role as a Children’s Bookseller for just under two months now, and I am happy to say that I am absolutely loving it!!!

As an avid reader I simply cannot imagine a more perfect job, as not only do I get to work in a role that encourages my addiction to books, I get to share my passion with our visitors everyday and help them to pick out a great read to take home with them.

Recently one of my recommends would have to be:-

Pegasus and the Flame by Kate O’Hearn (age range 8-12)

In this breathtaking tale, Ancient Greek Mythology and modern day New York Collide.
When an injured Pegasus crashes on to 13yr old Emily’s roof during a storm, she instantly sets about helping him to heal and to work out why he is here.
Enlisting the help of Joel, a boy from school, the pair set out to help Pegasus save Olympus before it is destroyed.
Fast paced, full of epic battles, monsters and lovable characters.
A perfect read for Tweens this summer. And a book I happily recommend on a daily basis at work!!

Now onto something a bit darker…..

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake.

Be warned this one one gave me nightmares!!!
Cas Lowood,our main character is a guy who comes from an unusual family, and has an unusual job – He hunts dead people.
Following in his fathers footsteps, Cas moves from town to town tracking down and re-killing the dead. Dead people like Anna, a ghost who still wears the dress she wore on the day of her murder, a dress that was once white, but is now stained red with her dripping blood.
Anna has killed everyone who has dared to enter her home, that is why Cas must hunt her down, and kill her….again.

This book did give me nightmares, the imagery in some of the scenes clearly shook me up but this did not stop me from absolutely falling in love with nearly all the characters, especially Cas, Anna, Thomas & Carmel.
The story line was intriguing, ghosts that avenged their murders, and a teen ghost slayer…this could easily have become a cringe-worthy tale, but it was well written, and it gripped you from the outset. Whilst this did terrify me in parts, it was also one of the most bittersweet love stories I have read recently. I simply cannot wait for book 2!!!

Till next time…happy reading!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

